The Quantum Technology Strategic Advisory Board comprises 12 members plus representatives from EPSRC, Innovate UK and BIS and is led by an independent chair, currently Professor David Delpy.

The board includes leading representatives of industry and academia and a representative from the quantum technology hubs.

Current membership and biographies

David Delpy, Chair

Professor Delpy is a world-renowned researcher specialising in the development of techniques for the physiological monitoring of patients and especially the imaging of neonatal brain function.

John Bagshaw

Trevor Cross

A graduate of Bath and Lancaster Universities, Trevor has a PhD in compound semiconductors. He is a Fellow and a council member of the Institute of Physics.

Peter Dobson

After careers at Imperial College and Philips Research laboratories he was appointed to a University Lectureship and College Fellowship at the Queen’s College Oxford in 1988 and a Professorship in 1996. There he conducted research on nanoparticles, nanostructures, optoelectronics and biosensors. He is currently a Principal Fellow at Warwick Manufacturing Group.

Peter Knight

Sir Peter Knight is Senior Fellow in Residence at the Kavli Royal Society International Centre at Chicheley Hall and immediate past-President of the Institute of Physics. Knight retired at the end of September 2010 as Deputy Rector (Research) at Imperial College where he was responsible for the College’s research strategy and a member of the Imperial College Management Board and Council.

Roger McKinlay

Roger read Engineering at Trinity Hall, Cambridge, and has worked in the defence, aerospace, maritime and rail industries. He is a chartered engineer, Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society, Fellow of the Institute of Directors and Immediate Past President of the Royal Institute of Navigation.

Gerard Milburn

Gerard Milburn obtained a PhD in theoretical Physics from the University of Waikato in 1982 for work on squeezed states of light and quantum nondemolition measurements. He was appointed to a postdoctoral research assistantship in the Department of Mathematics, Imperial college London in 1983.

Pauline Neville-Jones

Pauline Neville-Jones is a member of the Engineering and Physical Sciences research Council. From 2010 to 2011 she was Minister of State in the Home Office responsible for Security and Counter terrorism and a member of the National Security Council. On stepping down from government she became the Prime Minister’s Special Representative to Business on Cyber Security until March 2014.

Ian Walmsley

Myungshik Kim

Bryn Hughes

Derwen Hinds FIET

Morag Watson